Seriously. Nowadays it seems like they are everywhere you look on the net. Infographics Are a Crutch for a Lazy Writer. Being a tech writer, I notice it’s used as a crutch for writers just to get an article up. The writer only needs to compose a paragraph, then embed a huge obnoxiously long Infographic. What happened to real research and journalism? Anyone can write four sentences and post a huge Infographic! I want real writing. Research and in-depth coverage. Also, chances are, the writer isn’t even creating the Infographic. They’re loosely traded around the Internet — stolen. With no credit given to the original creator of it. Pinterest comes to mind. I wish when writing a How To article I could just throw up an Infographic. It would sure make things easier… But no, I carefully go through every step of the article I’m writing. I take careful screenshots that clearly shows the steps in each article. I carefully and intelligently explain the steps. I do research, I test everything on multiple operating systems, PCs and / or devices. The way sites display them differ as well. I don’t want to click-through three views just to get a readable size. Here’s an example of how worthless the majority of the Infographics really are. I created this using the site Visual.ly — it took 2 minutes to create. Check out The History of #Facebookipo Twitter Hashtag

Incredibly interesting and informative huh!? There will be a test later.

But Brian, no kidding, that’s why we love you! Our whole journalistic world is becoming like Fahrenheit 451 by Ray Bradbury, everything is pictures or television, no text. Books aren’t burned to the degree in that story or the subsequent film (the film is superb, check it out and see how much that world of Oskar Werner and Julie Christie resembles our own at least in the “developed” world. http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0060390/ We DO appreciate you Brian and we should say so more often. When it comes to Infographics, it’s getting so bad now that I’m getting 2-3 emails a day from different sites telling me about an AWESOME graphic its created and asks me to blog about it on gPost…. Um… yeah…. Wow Steve! I am not as fortunate to get them in my email everyday like you haha. Comment Name * Email *

Δ  Save my name and email and send me emails as new comments are made to this post.

Enough With the Infographics Already  - 94Enough With the Infographics Already  - 79