Earlier this week I built my first Windows 8 VM using VirtualBox.  Only problem was more than half the built-in Metro Apps wouldn’t load / launch on the VM.  Weather for example…  I can see it, I can click on it but no matter what I try, none of the Metro apps on my Virtual Machine will run.

Fortunately after messing around for about 10 minutes I solved the problem. All I had to do is adjust the screen resolution. To fix the problem, just bump up the Windows 8 Screen resolution and all your problems should be solved.

Comment Name * Email *

Δ  Save my name and email and send me emails as new comments are made to this post.

Fix for Launching Windows 8 Metro Apps in VirtualBox VM - 21Fix for Launching Windows 8 Metro Apps in VirtualBox VM - 10Fix for Launching Windows 8 Metro Apps in VirtualBox VM - 71Fix for Launching Windows 8 Metro Apps in VirtualBox VM - 10