Windows 8.1 has the same feature; however, I like how Microsoft improved it with Windows 10. Previously they separated the feature into Windows Refresh vs. Windows Reset. With Windows 10, it’s just Window Reset with a guided menu to walk you through the steps.

Reset this PC in Windows 10

To get started, go to Settings > Update & Security > Recovery. Then click the Get started button under the Reset this PC section.

Then you will have two options: Keep your files or remove everything — settings, files, apps. Note that whichever option you pick, you’ll still need to reinstall all of your apps and desktop programs and reconfigure your settings. And some computers will give you the option to restore your PC to factory settings.

The process will start and will only take a few seconds.

Next, you get a couple of options. You can remove your personal files, which is faster but less secure. Or remove the files and clean the drive — this option is the closest to doing a clean install with an ISO image. Microsoft says this is a good option if you’re selling your PC. However, for a PC with an HDD, I would feel safer using a proven secure method…DBANs Boot and Nuke to scrub the drive clean before recycling it. But if you’re resetting your PC, this is a great option.

Microsoft will give you a warning letting you know that you can’t undo the process.

The next screen will show you what resetting the PC will remove. This is your last chance to back out if you have any doubts.

Now your PC will restart several times, and after it’s done scrubbing the drive, Windows 10 will be reinstalled. Everything is automatic except the initial setup, i.e., entering a Microsoft account or naming the computer. These are the same onscreen instructions you go through when upgrading Windows 10.

That’s all there is to it. Windows 10 should be running much better, and you can start reinstalling apps and getting things set up how you like.

The Keep your Files should honestly be relabeled as make your PC faster. Thanks in advance. also what does the KEEP FILES delete, the Windows 10 Store Apps, the Program Files?. can i copy everything that i want to keep in the C:\ folder besides USER as i think the USER folder is 100% untouched. just wondering, as i did something i shouldnt have. But if after you do that your pc doesn’t boot giving an error of “unacessible_boot_device” and keeps reseting? Thanks in advance for your help! AJF Awesome :( It seems I have to to reinstall these things… I cannot find the “apps” I had simply online and download them, and this laptop has no disk drive and thus no startup/backup disk. I’m pretty unhappy, any advice would be welcome. any idea ? thanks Should a factory reset be done, I am assuming that it has to be re activated. This info is then sent online to Microsoft. Does Microsoft also receive the IEMI number of the device? If so, is it possible to trace the device in case of theft. Something similar to google. The only drawback with google and MS is that once factory reset is done, all accounts are removed. Has MS or Google not thought of embedding a password protect before a factory reset is granted. Is the device flashed in any way when upgrading to Win 10? I am raising these questions with the idea of protecting the device and content from theft. Yes I know a simple backup would save the information, but the content of the device is still out there to be used by anyone. Thx Just a thought I finally have attached a 2tb Fantom drive (USB) and using task manager started control panel then backup and restore and am now in the process of backing up the data to the fantom drive. I downloaded the latest msdn build of windows 10 (Nov 15, 2015) and once backup is complete and I prove I can restore something I will do a clean install of Win 10 and see if that works. Failing that will run a clean install of Win 7 and then reinstall the apps and restore data from the backup. A waste of 3 weeks of the neighbor’s time and 3 days of struggling from my time. Thanks! So, you will likely need to reinstall the Apps that are missing and hopefully you have a backup of the App data because unless it was stored in your My Documents, I’m worried you probably will not get them back. Now my question is, is there any possible way for me to reset the os without the Settings window? cause a bug happened to my laptop, the one where you can’t open the start menu, settings, action center, and i can’t right click any icon in my taskbar. even can’t open the time and date.. I already tried to find a lot of fixes for that but still, none worked. so this is my last resort before I take it to a Samsung Center and pay for their services.. can someone pls help me :( It is a Samsung Ativ XE700t1c 128gb SSD drive. Keyboard is not attached, I was using a usb keyboard. i have 2 partition drive C: and D: but i want to have just one. Comment Name * Email *

Δ  Save my name and email and send me emails as new comments are made to this post.

How to Reset your Windows 10 Operating System - 64How to Reset your Windows 10 Operating System - 31How to Reset your Windows 10 Operating System - 22How to Reset your Windows 10 Operating System - 15How to Reset your Windows 10 Operating System - 19How to Reset your Windows 10 Operating System - 93How to Reset your Windows 10 Operating System - 36How to Reset your Windows 10 Operating System - 83How to Reset your Windows 10 Operating System - 93How to Reset your Windows 10 Operating System - 32How to Reset your Windows 10 Operating System - 15