Good for founder, Col Needham. On this date in 1990, IMdB’s founder and CEO, then film hobbyist Needham, added a widget to a popular newsgroup.rec.arts.movies USENET newsgroup that added a fast, searchable actor database. Everyone I know who used it loved it. I found my favorite 1990s cult film, Gadjo Dilo, there.

As Needham and IMdB were among the first to jump on the Internet, still pre-Web in 1992, his new USENET group rec.arts.movies movie database was a hot destination. IMdB initially ran on servers in Cardiff, Wales, but expanded before long. And now it’s everywhere —  except China, which has imposed restrictions. Tech pros in situations like that can just get information via VPN or proxy, but I wouldn’t recommend anyone buck another nation’s laws. Just sayin.’ Happy a Groovy Birthday, IMdB. You have a lot to be proud of. Comment Name * Email *

Δ  Save my name and email and send me emails as new comments are made to this post.

IMdB  The Internet Movie Database Marks 21 Years Today  from Rags to Riches  - 47