Gabe Aul made the announcement on Twitter this afternoon.

— Gabriel Aul (@GabeAul) August 12, 2015 This should provide a big jump in quality of the Windows 10 Mobile and brings us another step closer to the final version which is scheduled to be released later this fall. Microsoft is emphasizing quality for the final preview builds that remain until the final version. According to Microsoft’s Blogging Windows site, you should see the following improvements:

General improvement in overall stability and performance.You can now set the Lock screen and background image from within the Photos app.We fixed an issue where apps installed on SD cards weren’t working after a reboot.We have improved Latvian and Chinese inputs.We have made improvements to the Kid’s Corner tile layout.We have improved reliability of Data Sense notifications.Modified Shape Writing algorithm to be less aggressive in suggesting contact names over common words.Resolved an issue where Camera would not launch when the phone was locked.We fixed an issue where notifications for incoming text messages weren’t appearing.We fixed an issue where the touch screen wouldn’t be responsive after ending a phone call on some devices.And we fixed an issue where folder tiles have obviously overlapping text.

To get the latest build, if you’re a Windows Mobile Insider in the fast ring, you know the drill. Go to Settings > Update & Security > Phone Update and check for updates. And you should start downloading version (10.0.10512.1000).

Remember to make sure your phone is fully charged, you’re on Wi-Fi, and leave your phone plugged in while the update takes place. During the upgrade process your phone will restart several times. I am just now starting to download it to my Lumia 635, and things are not going very quickly at all. After I eventually do get the bits downloaded, we’ll be showing any major new features that you can expect. However, it seems that Microsoft is on the home stretch, and will be improving performance and patching security bugs. Update: My update kept hanging at 0% and I did two full hard restarts, plugged it in and just left it. After a half hour, I see it’s now at 33%. From other sites I have read, this is what most users recommend. Do a couple full restarts of your phone, and simply just wait, but definitely make sure it’s plugged into a power source. If you’re a Windows 10 Mobile Insider, let us know how the update is going for you, any issues you encounter downloading the update, and any solutions you have in the comment below. Issues i’ve seen: – Windows store lags when open – Scrolling in long lists are some laggy – When switch on the device via “tap display to switch device on”, the device hangs for some of milliseconds – several times i’m unable to open the notification/status bar: device hangs when swiping – some settings are crashing when trying to open – bluetooth is not working with runtastic “orbit” wrist, cant connect to the wrist My phone was terrible, taking ages to load its Home screen “Chargement…” displayed for hours (I’m French). Every time, I had to go to the Camera/Picture/Share or Telephone in search to make it sort of crash to interrupt the loop and make the HS appear to unlock the SIM. Battery Life was awful also like there was almost a complete discharge in 30 minutes. Yeah! I know… I could have deactivated Preview and reinstalled an earlier version but I didn’t want to reboot to a previous version I already had, hoping for a quick fix. I hope this is resolved now… Fingers crossed while 10512 is currently being installed on my 1520 Doing so required that I reset the phone back to Windows 8.1, and then run Windows Insider to download and install the W10 update. Now I’m in the process of reinstalling apps, setting defaults, etc. What a hassle! All the other things are fine. Problems in this build 1. Quiet Hours blinking problem 2. Lock Screen Clock is not there Lumia 535 I am looking for the fix. I hope this is not the last version of Windows 10. There will be some more before manufacture release. Waiting for them specially to solve those problems. Due to quiet hours bug I am able to receive calls but unable to hear anything. This is not the manufacture release version that’s for sure. As so many bugs have to fixed before making a final release. I just hope the person who posted about the update Mr. Gabriel Aul. Is reading our comments and understanding each and every bug and trying to fix it. Without a completely flawless version they won’t manufacture it. (release it). what? We have to install this pre-release with a official Microsoft App (Windows Insider, which requires a registration on a Microsoft Server including a verification like EMail optin), so where do you got this wrong information about unofficial software??? I know that it is an official software. What I was talking about is waiting for the final official release. The final one which will have no bugs and it will be considered as “Manufacture Release”. Means that Microsoft will include windows 10 as OS in those smartphones and release it in the market. Before we will go through this build-ins which will have bugs. Then after verifying and fixing them they will build the future ones which will at last take us to the “Manufacture Release Version”. Ex: 10.0.10166 was succeed by 10.0.10512.1000 I know these are pre-release versions. I was talking about the final one (which wil be stable and will have no bugs in it). I have had to do that a few times, for every Windows Phone update I’ve ever done since the whole Windows Insiders program began. Out of curiosity, which model is your Windows Phone? Same thing for the Shopping tile – no picture of a shopping bag, but if I touch the tile it opens properly. Anyone know why or what to do about it? But I’m facing the problem which my phone couldn’t enable WIFI and its hotspot, and i still haven’t get to configure out how to resolve this. By the way, i’m Nokia 1520 user. Comment Name * Email *

Δ  Save my name and email and send me emails as new comments are made to this post.

Microsoft Delivers Windows 10 Mobile Preview Build 10512 - 88Microsoft Delivers Windows 10 Mobile Preview Build 10512 - 90